The Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra re-alignment, otherwise known as Svadhisthana.   Located in the sacrum, your Sacral Chakra corresponds to the proper functioning of your sexual organs, and thus your hormones and reproductive cycles. A healthy Swadhisthana opens us up to the development of our creativity, our passion, our joy, and enthusiasm. Given its location, our Sacral Chakra pumps all our energy from our base of our spine to our brains, keeping it young, vibrant, and nourished. Given that function, it’s directly related to our sexual energy and virility. That makes total sense: an open sacral chakra simply means you are able to feel, whether emotionally or physically. It allows us to emotionally and physically connect with others, and generally be open to the world, to manifest our desires, and to ‘let go’.

Chakracise your sacral chakra with pelvic thrustsand circular pelvis movements.  Wide-Angle Seated Forward Bend releases the inner groins and flows blood properly throughout the pelvic region according to B.K.S. Lyengar, author of “Light on Yoga.” I have heard that belly dancing is probably the best physical activity to open up your sacral chakra. Given the pelvic and hip awareness it requires, dancing (and belly dancing in particular) is especially suited to creating emotional and physical awareness of the sacral chakra, our sensuality, femininity, and sexuality. In fact, belly dance was initially practiced for the very purpose of helping women prepare for child birth, it was almost a coming of age ritual allowing young women to discover, love, and appreciate their bodies.  According to the Yoga Journalwebsite, asanas or postures that open the hip and inner groins help to balance the sacral chakra.  Bound Angle is a yoga posture that stretches the inner groins and stimulates the pelvis and abdomen with a fresh blood supply.

Feelings of guilt, addiction, a lack of self-confidence or sexual energy, and control issues may all be signs of a closed off sacral chakra. Specific physical dysfunctions might include lower back pain, sexual dysfunction, or urinary problems. On the flip-side, if you are over-active, overly emotional, or have control issues your sacral chakra might be on overdrive and you may want to tone it down a little!

Feeding Your Sacral Center

Nourishing the Sexual/Creativity Center

  • Sweet fruits: melons, mangos, strawberries, passion fruit, oranges, coconut, etc.
  • Honey
  • Nuts: almonds, walnuts, etc.
  • Spices: cinnamon, vanilla, carob, sweet paprika, sesame seeds, caraway seeds
Finally, here are positive Sacral Chakra affirmations for the day.
 I allow my sensuality to flow and achieve my most ambitious desires without sacrificing those I love and care for.
 I honor the union and integration of the masculine and feminine principles as I recognize and integrate these principles within myself.
I unconditionally love and approve of myself all the time.
I allow pleasure, sweetness, and sensuality into my life.
I give myself permission to enjoy life to its fullest.
I give myself permission to enjoy my sexuality fully.
 All of my thoughts and emotions flow harmoniously. All of my desires are perfectly balanced.
I am perfect, and deserving of what I want.
 I trust the Infinite Intelligence to give me everything I need for my growth
and development.
I allow prosperity and abundance into my life, always.
I open myself to the beauty, joy, and harmony of the Universe and I enjoy it.
I am open to myself, to beauty, joy, and harmony.
I release all my desires and appetites to the light.
I love myself exactly as I am right now.
I celebrate the creative exchange of sexual energy in the universe.
 I allow my sensuality to flow and achieve my most ambitious desires without sacrificing those I love and care for.
I allow pleasure, sweetness, and sensuality into my life.
3 Replies to “The Sacral Chakra”

Leave a Reply

